Science Researcher Update: Spotlight on Meetings, Conferences, and Events

Making Sense of Mouse Nomenclature and Promoting Genetic Stability - Webinar

Posted on Dec 10, 2014 7:49:01 AM

 
Webinar - The Jackson Laboratory, Bar Harbor, Maine, US 
 
What’s in a name? From mouse strain nomenclature you can determine genetic background, genetic modifications, who created the strain and who currently distributes it. Genetic changes that occur in mouse strains are reflected in the formal nomenclature. Learn how maintaining genetic stability is critical to generating the most reliable and reproducible data. In this webinar, we will discuss the following topics: How to decode inbred, mutant and transgenic mouse strain names Critical factors that affect strain phenotypes: strain background, environmental factors, and genetic drift How quickly substrains can develop and their research implications Best practices to maintain a genetically consistent mouse colony
 
Organization: The Jackson Laboratory
  
January 8, 2015 (10am PT / 11am MT / 12pm CT / 1pm ET)
Online
The Jackson Laboratory, Bar Harbor, Maine, US
  
If you'd like to ask a question or post a comment about this talk please do so below.
This seminar posting is brought to you by Biotechnology Calendar, Inc. providing access to research information and research tools for nearly 20 years. Visit our Science Market Update Blog for current science funding and market information or see our schedule of upcoming science research laboratory product shows.

Tags: research mice, Research Webinars, United States, Webinar, ME, Bar Harbor, Genetic, January, 2015, laboratory, Life Science, research laboratories

This meeting information is brought to you by Biotechnology Calendar, Inc

We connect researchers with the tools they need to succeed. 

Get 2018 Event Schedule > Click Here <

sell more lab supplies